1.What is meant by e-Gov Standards?

The national e-Governance Plan was launched by the Government of India ( GoI) with the intent to support the growth of e-governance within the country. Having realized the needs of common man, it was felt that the e-Governance systems need to interoperate and for seamless sharing of data and service among the systems, standards need to be in place. To ensure Interoperability among e-Governance applications, Government of India has set-up an Institutional mechanism for formulation of Standards through collaborative efforts of stakeholders like Department of Information Technology (DIT), National Informatics Centre (NIC), Standardization Testing and Quality Certification( STQC), other Government departments.

2.Why do we need e-Gov Standards?

e-Gov Standards may ensure sharing of information and seamless interoperability of data across e-Governance applications. This may also help in designing a system which can interoperate efficiently and effectively with other systems from all stake-holders of e-Governance for better decision-making, cooperation and coordination among the stake-holders of e-Governance projects.

3.Where can I find notified and published e-Gov Standards?

All notified and published eGov standards are hosted at the eGov Standards portal, http://egovstandards.gov.in

4. Who will test the Conformance for notified Standards?

STQC and certified third party will verify the conformance of notified standards.

5. The notified standards when implemented, may have to be reviewed/ modified due to new requirements and /or advancements in technology. How it would be addressed?

The mechanisms for Release and Change management of Standards and mechanism for Version management will address this requirement.

6. How the Standards are legally enforceable?

Electronic delivery of Services (EDS) bill will take care legal enforceability of e-Gov Standards.

7. In case of legacy applications how these standards are going to implement?

As per the Policy of Open Standards for e-Governance, legacy applications, when undergo major enhancement or version change, they need to adhere with the notified standards.

8. What is meant by MDDS ?

It means Metadata and Data Standards. Metadata standards are requirements which are intended to establish a common understanding of the meaning or semantics of the data, to ensure correct and proper use and interpretation of the data by its owners and users. To achieve this common understanding, a number of characteristics, or attributes of the data have to be defined, also known as metadata. Metadata is structured information that describes, explains, locates or otherwise makes it easier to retrieve, use or manage an information resource. [Data Standards are documented agreements on representation, format, definition, structuring, tagging, transmission, manipulation, use, and management of data.

9. What is interoperability in e-Governance ?

The 'Interoperability' in E-Governance is defined as 'the ability of the public agencies to work together towards mutually beneficial and agreed common goals of providing public services from multiple disparate & diverse public agencies to all other stake-holders like the Citizen and the Business'.

10. What is Interoperability Framework for E-Governance (IFEG) ?

Interoperability Framework for e-Governance (IFEG) is one of the approaches – and the common one till recently - to achieve interoperability in e-Governance. An IFEG is simply defined as a common structure which comprises of a set of standards and guidelines; the structure can be used by the public agencies to specify the preferred way that all stake-holders interact with each other to share the information. It is synonym to speaking a common language. IFEG is also known as 'Government Interoperability Framework' (GIF) in some countries.

Back to Top