No. 1(1)/2005-eGov. Standards
National Informatics Centre
Department of Information Technology
Ministry of Communications and Information Technology
Government of India
A-Block, CGO Complex, Lodi Road
New Delhi - 110 003

Office Memorandum

Dated: 13th January 2006

Subject: Constitution of Working Group on Quality and Documentation Standards for eGovernance.

Recognizing the critical role that well designed standards play in the rapid growth of e-Governance, the Department of Information Technology (DIT), has constituted an "Apex Body on Standards in DIT", vide its notification No. 14 (3)04-EGD dated 7th September 2005, among other things, to design the broad policy framework for setting as well as development of standards for the e-Governance initiatives in India. "Quality and Documentation" is one among the key priority areas that have been identified for standardisation. National Informatics Centre (NIC) has been entrusted with the task of originating white papers on all desired standards to serve as discussion papers for Working Groups to develop standards.

- 2. The undersigned is directed to say that with the approval of the Competent Authority, accordingly a Working Group on "Quality and Documentation Standards for eGovernance", consisting of following members is constituted:
 - Dr.S.Sarnot, DG, STQC

Chairman

<u>Members</u>

- 2. Dr. S. C. Gupta, Senior Technical Director, NIC
- 3. Shri U.K. Nandwani, Director, STQC, DIT, New Delhi
- 4. Ms.Renu Buddhiraja, Director, E-Governance PMU, DIT
- 5. Mr. Mohan Ram, CDAC Bangalore
- 6. Shri Keshav Prasad, Director, Inkroma, Bangalore

- 7. Shri I.K Ravichandra Rao.Documentation Research & Training Centre , Bangalore
- 8. Ms.Rama Raghu Iyer, Specialist, Knowledge Solutions. NIIT
- 9. Ms. Neeta Shah, Director, E-Governance, GIL, Gandhinagar
- 10. Dr.(Ms.) N.Asha Goyal, IBM, Gurgaon,
- 11. Ms. Reenie Gara, TCS
- 12. Mr. Murali Dhar, Wipro, Bangalore
- 13. Mr. Anirudh Srivastava, Microsoft
- 14. Mr.Rajdeep Sahrawat, NASSCOM, New Delhi
- 15. Prof.T.M.Rama Rao, IIM Ahmedabad
- 16. Ms. Vinnie Mehta, MAIT
- 17. Ms. Vinita Sethi, CII
- 18. Shri Navneet Kukreja, Senior Technical Director, NIC
- 19. Representative from Knowledge Commisison
- 20. Representative of Bureau of Indian Standards, New Delhi

Member Secretary

Ms. Alka Mishra, Technical Director, NIC

The Terms of Reference to the Working Group will be:

- (a) Advise on development of required White Papers for discussion in the Working Group to evolve standards;
- (b) Evolve Standards;
- (c) Manage interaction with similar initiatives and standards bodies elsewhere in the world;
- (d) Nominate members on various International standards committees and continuously strive towards key roles for India in such international forums;
- (e) Define the scope of any deliverables, expected milestones, and the process for the group participants to approve the release of these deliverables (including publishing intermediate results);
- (f) Determine any dependencies of other entities on the deliverables of this group;
- (g) Define the expected level of involvement by the members of the Team (e.g., to track developments, write and edit technical reports, , etc.);
- (h) Must also include an estimate of the expected time commitment from participants;
- (i) Requirements that a quorum of group participants support any formal decision of the group;
- (j) Change control of the Draft standard document and Version Management.
- (k) Create a supporting framework for implementation and testing
- (1) Setting timeline for the release of initial set of standards to the Apex Body of Standards of DIT.

- (m) To make modifications to the TOR as may be appropriate during the course of development.
- 3. The Group may co-opt other Experts from Academia, Industry, Consulting Professionals and Government.
- 4. TA/DA of non-official members (and Special Invitees/ Co-opted members) for attending the meetings will be paid as admissible to Class I Officers of the Government of India as per SR 190 (a). The expenditure on TA/DA of the Officials will be borne by the respective Central Ministries/ Central Departments/ State Governments to which they belong.
- 5. The Working Group will be serviced by the E-Governance Standards Division of the National Informatics Centre.

Padma Nair)

(Padma Nair)

Deputy Director

To

Chairman and all Members of the Working Group

Copy also for information to:

- 1. PS to the Chairman, Apex Body on Standards in DIT
- 2. Office of the Director General, NIC
- 3. Joint Secretary, e-Governance Group, DIT
- 4. Deputy Director General, e-Governance Division, NIC,
- 5. Head, e-Governance Standards Division, NIC
- 6. Director (e-GOV Standards), e-Governance Programme Management Unit (DIT), and also Member-Convenor, Apex Body on Standards in DIT