No. 1(3)/2005-eGov.Standards
National Informatics Centre
Department of Information Technology
Ministry of Communications and Information Technology
Government of India
A-Block, CGO Complex, Lodi Road
New Delhi - 110 003

Office Memorandum

Dated: 1st February, 2006

Subject: Constitution of Working Group on "Metadata and Data Standards for Application Domains" as identified under the National e-Governance Programme (NeGP).

Recognizing the critical role that well designed standards play in the rapid growth of e-Governance, the Department of Information Technology (DIT), has constituted an "Apex Body on Standards in DIT", vide its notification No. 14 (3)04-EGD dated 7th September 2005, among other things, to design the broad policy framework for setting as well as development of standards for the e-Governance initiatives in India. "Meta Data and Data Standards for Application Domains as identified under the National e-Governance Programme (NeGP)" is one among the key priority areas that have been identified for standardisation. National Informatics Centre (NIC) has been entrusted with the task of originating white papers on all desired standards to serve as discussion papers for Working Groups to develop standards.

- 2. The undersigned is directed to say that with the approval of the Competent Authority, accordingly a Working Group on "Meta Data and Data Standards for Application Domains for eGovernance", consisting of following members is constituted:
 - 1. Prof.C.R.Muthukrishnan, IIT Madras

Chairman

Members

- 2. Prof. K.R. Srivathsan, Director, IIIT& M, Kozhikode, Kerala
- 3. Prof. Vasudeva Varma, IIT Hyderabad
- 4. Prof. R.K. Shyamasunder, TIFR, Mumbai
- 5. Prof. Krithivasan Ramamirtham, IIT, Powai, Mumbai

- 6. Dr. P.S..Roy, Deputy Director, NRSA
- 7. Dr.R.Sivakumar, Head of NRDMS and NSDI
- 8. Mr. A. Mohan, Deputy Director General and State Informatics Officer, NIC, Chennai
- 9. Mr. V. K. Gupta, Director, NICAIR, CSIR, Delhi
- 10. Mr. Arup Dasgupta, Former Deputy Director, Space Applications Centre, Ahmedabad
- 11. Mr. Satyajit Suri, NISG, Hyderabad
- 12. Mr.R.Sekar, Intel
- 13. Mr. Dhruv Singhal, Head Professional services ,BEA Systems
- 14. Dr Rajanish Dass ,IIM Ahmedabad
- 15. Ms. Meenakshi Jwala, STQC, New Delhi
- 16. Mr. D.S. Dhapola, Project Director, PMU Urban Affairs, Uttaranchal Academy of Administration
- 17. Prof Debashis Saha ,IIM Calcutta
- 18. Mr. Anirudh Srivastava, Microsoft
- 19. Mr. Satish Kaushal, IBM, New Delhi
- 20. Ms, Renu Buddhiraja, Scioentist F,e-Governance PMU, DIT
- 21. Ms.Radhika Sethi NASSCOM
- 22. Mr.Zia Sagib,CDAC
- 23. Dr.C.Anantram.TCS
- 24. Representative from Knowledge Commission
- 25. Representative from RGI, Home Affairs, GOI
- Rep. from Central Statistical Organisation(CSO), Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation, GOI
- 27. Rep. from Centre of Good Governance
- 28. Mr. Manas Pattnaik, Member (Tech), ECommittee, Supreme Court

Member Secretary

Dr.(Ms). Meenakshi Mahajan, Technical Director, NIC

The Terms of Reference to the Working Group will be:

- (a) Advise on development of required White Papers for discussion in the Working Group to evolve standards;
- (b) Evolve Standards;
- (c) Manage interaction with similar initiatives and standards bodies elsewhere in the world;
- (d) Nominate members on various International standards committees and continuously strive towards key roles for India in such international forums;
- (e) Define the scope of any deliverables, expected milestones, and the process for the group participants to approve the release of these deliverables (including publishing intermediate results);
- (f) Determine any dependencies of other entities on the deliverables of this group;
- (g) Define the expected level of involvement by the members of the Team (e.g., to track developments, write and edit technical reports, , etc.);

- (h) Must also include an estimate of the expected time commitment from participants;
- (i) Requirements that a quorum of group participants support any formal decision of the group;
- (j) Change control of the Draft standard document and Version Management.
- (k) Create a supporting framework for implementation and testing
- (1) Setting timeline for the release of initial set of standards to the Apex Body of Standards of DIT.
- (m) To make modifications to the TOR as may be appropriate during the course of development.
- 3. The Group may co-opt other Experts from Academia, Industry, Consulting Professionals and Government.
- 4. TA/DA of non-official members (and Special Invitees/ Co-opted members) for attending the meetings will be paid as admissible to Class I Officers of the Government of India as per SR 190 (a). The expenditure on TA/DA of the Officials will be borne by the respective Central Ministries/ Central Departments/ State Governments to which they belong.
- 5. The Working Group will be serviced by the E-Governance Standards Division of the National Informatics Centre.

tadus Nei'v Padma Nair 12/06

Deputy Director(eGovernance)

То

Chairman and all Members of the Working Group

Copy also for information to:

- 1. PS to the Chairman, Apex Body on Standards in DIT
- 2. Office of the Director General, NIC
- 3. Joint Secretary, e-Governance Group, DIT
- 4. Deputy Director General, e-Governance Standards Division, NIC,
- 5. Director (e-GOV Standards), e-Governance Programme Management Unit (DIT), and also Member-Convenor, Apex Body on Standards in DIT